Transience

Let me tiptoe on the spray of swollen surf
Or bake in the momentary imprint of soft sand
As it cradles my inert corpse

May circling gulls swoop to peck my glazed eye balls
Whilst nimble crabs nibble loose flesh
Salted by a whispering breeze

Drawing my exhaled breath beyond
So that it may touch far off shores
Before being absorbed into oblivion

As the incoming tide bites ever closer
Tenderly tickling before full embrace
May it bear my spent frame easily

That limp limbs should not snag
Nor matted hair drag
During my journey on the ebb

May my bones be stripped
Before they are engulfed
In sedimentary permanence.

This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

