The Liebster Award

I was pleased, flattered and honoured that the wonderful poet Ruth Stacey chose Garyswordz as one of her five choices for The Liebster Award. Thank-you Ruth, ( whose poem “The Bear” is quite brilliant) it is much appreciated .

Counter-nominating a proposer is not in the spirit of the Award, nonetheless , Ruth’s “Mermaids Drown” is always worth visiting: (http://mermaidsdrown.blogspot.com/)

Now I should explain what it all means…

Liebster is a German word meaning dearest, and the award is given to up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers.

If you receive the award, you should:

1. Thank the giver and link back to the blogger who gave it to you.

2. Reveal your top five picks and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.

3. Copy and paste the award on your blog.

4. Hope that the people you’ve sent the award to forward it to their five favourite bloggers and keep it going!’

My five choices for the Liebster Award follow, all are blogs I visit often, it is not in order:

Fatimaalmatar: Fatima Al Matar is a mother, journalist, lawyer, academic and poet whose work I admire and whose signed first collection I cherish. Her poetry combines the eastern mysticism and wisdom of Kahil Gibran with the 20th Century female angst of Sylvia Plath, her footwear of choice are killer heels ( offering a different type of angst). http://fatimaalmatar.blogspot.com/

Pollysworda : Mal Dewhirst is a Poetry Activist whose weekly blog is sharp, incisive, full of what is going on poetically in the area, and who likes the same music as me! His forgotten poets section is always of interest. http://pollysworda.wordpress.com/

The Hitting The Road Again Blues: Bob Hale is a Black Country author and poet currently teaching English in China for a year. He combines the absurdities of Stephen Merchant’s “An Idiot Abroad” with the turn of phrase of Martin Amis and the sureness of observation that only foreigners can make in the spirit of Bill Bryson. It is quite brilliant – and instructive. http://thehittingtheroadagainblues.blogspot.com/

Commonplace- Maria Taylor: Maria is part of the Crystal Clear Creator collective in Leicester and has a distinguished literary pedigree. Her writing seamlessly combines the erudite with life’s simple truths, and what she likes is invariably worth checking out. http://miskinataylor.blogspot.com/

Wastiesspace: Heather Wastie is always performing somewhere, and her grasp of what is popular always shines through in her breezy blog combining comment, what’s on, poetry and news and views. http://www.wastiesspace.co.uk/

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Liebster Award

  1. Bob Hale says:

    Not sure if my previous comment made it or not. China has an unpredictable firewall that sometimes let’s me see wordpress blogs and sometimes doesn’t. I posted a comment when it did and then it wouldn’t let me back in to check. Therefore here it is again, in paraphrase.

    Gary is too kind about my writing but I’d like to thank him anyway for the nomination and all those nice things he said about me. He has also presented me with a dilemma by including in his list both Fatima and Heather who would have been in mine. Do I still include them, duplicating his choices, or do I produce a list of five completely new ones?
    Decisions, decisions.

    I shall thank him properly when I put together a book about my life in China by including his quote in the cover blurb.

    Thanks Gary

  2. In the midst of busy busy busyness I discover your nomination, Gary, and also see that Bob Hale mentions me too! Gives me a warm glow. Thanks!

  3. Maria Taylor says:

    Hi, in the midst of writing about this in my own blog! Thanks kindly for this nomination and so glad you enjoy my (slightly silly) blog!

Leave a Reply

